In this article:
Moderation allows presenters to review and approve individual responses on free response activities such as Open-ended, Word cloud, and Q&A. Presenters have control over which responses are shown live on the Activity slide. Alongside the profanity filter, Moderation is great for filtering out inappropriate responses and staying on topic.
Moderation is available as a premium feature on certain paid plans and can be used on the web application or the mobile presenter app.
How to turn on Moderation
Step 1: Open the activity you wish to moderate. Note: Moderation is only available on free text-type activities, like Open-ended, Word cloud, and Q&A.
Step 2: Locate the Configure panel on the right side of the Activity slide. Expand the Moderation arrow to reveal the settings.
Step 3: By default, Moderation will be disabled. Click Open Moderation to turn it on. If you don’t have responses, this will reveal the Moderation section underneath the activity. If you have responses, they will be hidden and moved to the Moderation section, where the Moderator can hide and unhide responses.
Moderation can only be turned on for individual activities. Moderation is disabled by default for all activities, so make sure to enable it before you present.
How to use Moderation
Now that you’ve turned on Moderation for your activity, you are ready to review your responses:
As mentioned above, a Moderation section will open up underneath your activity. Use the toggle switch to choose between Visible and Hidden. Visible responses will appear on the Activity slide, while Hidden responses will remain hidden.
Note: If you are sharing your screen, your participants can still view this section. We recommend not sharing your screen until you are ready to show the responses.
- New responses: As responses trickle in, the Moderation section will notify you of incoming responses. When you’ve reviewed all responses and are ready for more, click the yellow banner Load new responses.
- Hide responses: If you are presenting your activity and want to hide the responses until you are ready to share, click Hide activity. This will display a blank activity until you turn it back on.
Want a teammate to moderate your activity for you? Learn more about Shared Moderation.